How much computer is too much computer?

I’ve gotta admit, one of the reasons I’ve not been blogging as much as I originally intended when I started this blog, is because it is so darned hard for me to get back on the computer at home, after being on it all day at work. There are a lot of posts swirling around in my head that I just need to sit down and tap out.

But that leads me to wonder – how much computer is too much computer? Or iPhone, iTouch, Netbook, any other device that can take time away from other activities?

It’s all about time management I suppose.

In a webinar I recently hosted at work, the presenter mentioned that you can spend 1 hour on the computer in the morning and get all of your business done for the day. That’d be great if that worked for me – but when I sit down to the computer after work, it’s usually to go through my emails, catch up on Facebook, blog, catch up on my Google Reader and others blogs, research baby stuff (at this point at least lol), Skype, and get things in order. And it is usually done in conjunction with making dinner, doing laundry, and doing other odds and ends at the same time. Again with the multi-tasking. A great skill to have, but are you really giving 100% to any one task when you have multiple going on?

So all that being said – I’m going to try and be better about blogging on here. It is important to me to share my thoughts about the library profession and my job in particular because really, being a librarian is kinda the coolest gig around! Dontcha agree! 🙂

How do you manage your time to blog and have it not take away from other important activities while not at work? Clearly, I’m taking advice here 🙂

Leave a Reply

