Is social media too personal?

So in the world of social media, some people have multiple facebook and twitter accounts – one for professional use, one for personal use. Makes complete sense to keep the two separate – the whole “don’t mix work and pleasure” thing.

That leads me to wonder though – how personal is too personal on Twitter or Facebook specifically?

For example, I started following some baby related companies on my  Twitter account and I occasionally tweet about baby related things  – is that wrong? unprofessional?

To me, I see it as an outlet for learning, expanding my network, a way to help others in the knowledge that I gain. A little give and take you know.

So it doesn’t seem wrong to me – but I do see that there is a fine line – which leads me to wonder about how fine that line in the sand is drawn and how quickly it can vanish with one wave of water.

When it comes to work, what you divulge about your own job, about yourself as a librarian, as a Mom, as a human being, says a lot. And with social media being on such a huge and constantly growing boom lately, it just seems that more and more is being put out there.

What are your thoughts on this? Is it an issue for you?

I always say “If I couldn’t say it to my mother’s face, or I’d be embarrassed if it ended up on the front page of the newspaper, it shouldn’t be said … by me at least”.

2 Responses

  1. This is a good post. I don’t know what the answer is though – in fact, it might be different for everyone.

    For me, I had a blog for a long time before I started a Twitter account. My blog is mostly professional, but for whatever reason, I wanted my Twitter account to be more personal. Which is why, in fact, my account is @herzogbr instead of @swissarmylibrarian – because it’s me, not my blog.

    I don’t know if anyone besides me sees this distinction, but that’s how I break it down. (Also, I would think that 99% of my tweets are indeed mom-safe.)

  2. It is a tough call. My blog has always just been my personal life, but library life and activity has been creeping into it. On Twitter, I finally outed my full name when the whole HC issue hit, because my network took a stand. I am proud to be a librarian, a mom, a gardening-knitting-crafting-book blogger. I do draw a line professionally, but I am still me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

